15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 http://dellybird.co.uk 300

Contemporary YA Releases – June 2019

Hello! I am so pleased to be back after May’s unexpected hiatus. As always, I want to start the month with my recommendations of recent and upcoming book releases. There are so many amazing books releasing this June and I know you have been desperate to get your hands on some of these! Due to the sheer number of releases I have broken down my recommendations into two posts, one focusing on contemporary books and the other on fantasy. Here are my top five contemporary books releasing this month:


The Paper & Hearts Society #Gifted

Contemporary YA. The Paper and Hearts Society by Lucy Powrie

Title: The Paper & Hearts Society

Author: Lucy Powrie

Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books

Published: 13th June 2019

Genre: YA Contemporary

Issues: Mental health, anxiety, bullying

Rep: LGBTQIAP+


I love this book and it should be at the top of every bookworm’s TBR pile this summer. I was lucky enough to receive an advanced reader copy via Netgalley after hearing some great buzz from other bloggers. The author, Lucy Powrie, is a well-known Booktuber and runs the #UKYAChat on Twitter. As she is so well known in bookish circles I wasn’t sure if the hype was simply because it is Lucy’s debut novel but trust me when I say, it isn’t!

The Paper & Hearts Society is a heart-warming story about friendship, books and growing up. Tabby is moving away with her family to be closer to her gran but also to escape her problems. She has to navigate a new area and new friendships, whilst dealing with a past that threatens to catch up with her. It is a quintessentially bookish read, which is about bookish people and, as expected from a novel written by Lucy, mentions a lot of classical literature. The novel explores important issues such as anxiety and bullying. I love the LGBTQIAP+ representation in the book. Lucy messaged me on Twitter to say that there are exciting announcements about book two heading our way soon so I thoroughly recommend grabbing book one asap! You can also receive an exclusive pin for pre-ordering link here.


Ordinary Girls

Contemporary YA. Ordinary Girls by Blair Thornburgh

Title: Ordinary Girls

Author: Blair Thornburgh

Publisher: HarperTeen

Published: 4th June 2019

Genre: Contemporary, classic retelling


Ordinary Girls is described as ‘perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Mlynowski’ and is a contemporary retelling of the classic Sense and Sensibility. I came across this on a blogger request list and thought it sounded like a really nice summer read.

Two sisters, Plum and Ginny, are the complete opposites of each other so often get on each others nerves. Chaos ripples through the household when the family find themselves in financial difficulties. It is at times like these that we learn who we really are and perhaps the sisters are more alike then they thought. Will secrets finally bring them closer together or will they drift apart for good?


Every Bright and Broken Thing

Contemporary YA. very Bright and Broken Thing by Brian McBride

Title: Every Bright and Broken Thing

Author: Brian McBride

Publisher: Wilder Ground Books

Published: 11th June 2019

Genre: Contemporary

Issues: Grief

Trigger Warnings: Sexual assault, drug & alcohol abuse.


Firstly, I have to say that I love the cover of this book! It was the first thing that I noticed and I can’t help but keep staring at it. I haven’t heard a lot about Every Bright and Broken Thing but the reviews I have read and the blurb make this a must read for me. It promises to be a raw, emotional roller coaster of a read and after Akemi Bowman’s Summer Bird Blue, I am ready to cry over a book again.

Every Bright and Broken Thing is a story about two brothers who struggle with grief after their mother passes away. 16 year old Liam performs as the lead singer in a band but he has a secret that he will never tell. The problem with secrets is that they tend to come out, especially in small towns. Ezra, his 24 year old brother, escapes to a prestigious art school but drops out when he can’t cope, instead turning to alcohol, painkillers and one-night stands. Will their brotherly bond hold them together?


Wild and Crooked

Wild and Crooked by Leah Thomas

Title: Wild and Crooked

Author: Leah Thomas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Published: 4th June 2019

Genre: Contemporary

Rep: LGBTQIAP+ & Disability


I honestly haven’t heard anything about this book and I am not sure why! It currently has over 4 stars on Goodreads with 64 reviews and both LGBTQIAP+ and disability rep. Of course I have to check this one out! The story sounds really interesting with two main characters, Kalyn and Gus. Kalyn has to attend school under a pseudonym for fear of being identified as the daughter of a brutal teenage murderer. Gus has cerebral palsy and is fed up of being defined as the ‘disabled kid’ or the boy whose dad was murdered. Both want to redefine themselves based on who they really are. When they strike up a friendship and their families’ pasts catch up with them they are thrown into a national uproar. Will they ever be able to move on and find their own paths?


Other Words for Home

Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga. Middle Grade Contemporary book.

Title: Other Words for Home

Author: Jasmine Warga

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Published: 28th May 2019

Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary

Rep: PoC

Issues: Immigration, racism, oppression, identity


Another book with a lovely cover! I am sneaking this book in here as it is a very late May release rather than June but I am really looking forward to reading Other Words for Home and I missed it in my May recommendations. It has been described as a powerful read like The Hate U Give, which obviously peaked my interest. Jude is a 12 year old Syrian immigrant who moves to America, leaving her older brother and father behind in her volatile hometown. Nothing could quite prepare her for starting in a new school, in a new country and suddenly being given a new identity that she has never known before “Middle Eastern”. Can Jude be who she really is and will her new house ever really be home? The novel explores issues including oppression and racism.


So Many Books

Which June 2019 releases are you looking forward to the most? Let me know below! I now have a Book Depository affiliate link so if you do want to top up your TBR and would like to support me, then clicking through my link would be greatly appreciated. (It doesn’t cost you anything extra and means that I would get a small percentage back from the Book Depository for the money you spend.) Here is my link if you would like to use it: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=dellybird

My next bookish post will feature my fantasy recommendations that are releasing in June 2019 so make sure you check them out too! Honestly, there are some great books that you do not want to miss this month. Thank you all for sticking with me through this last month. Honestly, it has been very tough and I really appreciate all of the support. It is so good to be back to blogging!

Share:
Category:Beautiful Books
PREVIOUS POST
May 2019 Releases – My Top Five Books
NEXT POST
WeRead Box – New Book Box Announcement

6 Comments

  • 1st June 2019 at 12:49 pm

    All with fantastic cover designs!

    REPLY
    • 1st June 2019 at 5:40 pm
      Dellybird

      They really are great! Usually there are one or two that stand out but they definitely all have their own personalities this month.

      REPLY
  • 1st June 2019 at 1:58 pm

    Wild and Crooked definitely wasn’t on my radar and I just added to my TBR. 💜 Thanks for the rec – it sounds super interesting!

    REPLY
    • 1st June 2019 at 5:41 pm
      Dellybird

      Yay, I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

      REPLY
  • 4th June 2019 at 10:17 pm

    Welcome back!

    REPLY
    • 11th June 2019 at 3:59 pm
      Dellybird

      Thank you!

      REPLY

Leave a Reply