15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 http://dellybird.co.uk 300
New Book Releases

August 2020 Book Releases

How is it time for my August 2020 book releases post already?! This is such a great month for sci-fi releases! I can’t remember the last time I was equally excited by so many new releases. Here are my top picks to get you started this month:


The Space Between Worlds

The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson book cover

Title: The Space Between Worlds

Author: Micaiah Johnson

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Published: 4th August 2020

Genre: Science Fiction, LGBT

Goodreads: Add me here!

Amazon: Affiliate link*


I know that I am receiving this book in a book box and I absolutely can’t wait to read it. The synopsis is fantastic! It is a cross-dimensional adventure, which examines identity, privilege and belonging. You can visit any part of the multiverse except if you have a live counterpart on that world. Cara is dead on 374 worlds, with her counterparts excelling at dying in all kinds of different fashions. This has freed Cara up to live the life that she wants, in the places that she has always dreamed of. However, when one of her few remaining doppelgangers dies in mysterious circumstances secrets begin to emerge. Cara is in danger along with her world and the entire multiverse.


Seven Devils

Seven Devils by Elizabeth May & Laura Lam book cover

Title: Seven Devils

Authors: Elizabeth May & Laura Lam

Publisher: Gollancz

Published: 4th August 2020

Genre: Science Fiction (YA)

Goodreads: Add me here!

Amazon: Affiliate link*


A feminist space opera you say? Sold! This is the first in a duology where seven resistance fighters attempt to free the galaxy from a ruthless empire. Eris, after faking her own death to escape her role as heir to the empire, is assigned a mission to infiltrate a spaceship. With the help of Cloelia, a mechanic and pilot, she is to gather intelligence for the resistance. What they find however is more than they could have wished for. Three fugitive women offer them the knowledge and capabilities to bring down the empire. In order to save millions of lives they must stop the new heir from disrupting a peace summit with the only remaining alien empire. If they don’t, their galaxy will be lost forever.


The First Sister

 The First Sister by Linden A. Lewis book cover

Title: The First Sister

Author: Linden A. Lewis

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Published: 4th August 2020

Genre: Science Fiction, LGBT

Goodreads: Add me here!

Amazon: Affiliate link*


This is a Goldsboro SFF book selection, which I have very high hopes for! It has a non-binary hero and claims to combine “the social commentary of The Handmaid’s Tale with the white-knuckled thrills of Red Rising“. It explores colonisation, race, gender and the power of technology.

First Sister has no name or voice and is a priestess of the Sisterhood. She travels alongside the soliders of Earth and Mars but hopes for freedom. After being abandoned by her former captain she is forced to stay and spy on the new one, Saito Ren, as commanded by the Sisterhood. It turns out that her job is much harder when you’re falling in love.

Lito val Lucius is on a mission to find and kill his traitorous former partner. When he finds Hiro’s secret recordings, Lito’s allegiances are tested as he must decide between following orders or following his heart.


Where Dreams Descend

Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles book cover

Title: Where Dreams Descend

Author: Janella Angeles

Publisher: Wednesday Books

Published: 25th August 2020

Genre: Fantasy (YA)

Goodreads: Add me here!

Amazon: Affiliate link*


I am really attracted to this title because of the obvious The Phantom of the Opera reference. Although, every time I see it I can hear ‘The Music of the Night’ in my head. My major dissertation was on Phantom so I am always interested in new adaptations. The Conquering circus is looking for its next headline act. Magicians face off against each other but it isn’t what is on stage that is causing chaos but rather, what is happening behind the scenes. Secrets are building up, acts are becoming riskier and missing magicians are adding up…. This book has mystery, magic and romance.


The Black Kids

The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed book cover

Title: The Black Kids

Author: Christina Hammonds Reed

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Published: 4th August 2020

Genre: Contemporary (YA), historical fiction

Goodreads: Add me here!

Amazon: Affiliate link*


The Black Kids has been described as perfect for fans of The Hate U Give. It has similar themes regarding race, class and violence. The story is told through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager. Set in Los Angeles in 1992 the story surrounds the Rodney King riots. Ashley finds herself no longer just one of the girls but one of the black kids. With her sister heavily involved in the riots and her friends putting her in difficult positions, Ashley’s world is splintering. She is left to question who is us? And who is them?


Honorable Mentions & Sequels

  • The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinska
  • The Notorious Virtues by Alywn Hamilton
  • Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer
  • Reign (Stormheart #3) by Cora Carmack
  • The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow #2) by Margaret Owen
  • Bright Raven Skies (Sweet Black Waves #3) by Kristina Pérez
  • Sorcery of a Queen (Dragons of Terra #2) by Brian Naslund. I highly recommend this series if you enjoy A Game of Thrones and you can check out my review of book one, Blood of an Exile, here.

Which August 2020 book releases are you most excited about? Let me know in the comments below!


*This post contain my affiliate links, which cost nothing extra to use. I may earn a small commission for purchases made, which would help to support my blog. Thank you for your support.*

Share:
Category:Beautiful Books
PREVIOUS POST
Disability Pride Month – Why You Should Care
NEXT POST
August Kindle Book Sale

2 Comments

  • 2nd August 2020 at 9:16 am
    Daisy

    So many books are coming out this month!! I love the sound of Where Dreams Descend and The Black Kids sound the best!!

    REPLY
  • 2nd August 2020 at 11:24 am

    I’m definitely excited for the The Black Kids. Love that it’s set around the riots and it should be a very eye opening read. Xx

    REPLY

Leave a Reply