15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 http://dellybird.co.uk 300
September 2019 Book Releases post cover image

September 2019 Book Releases – Top Picks


It is time for my top picks post for September 2019 book releases! The sun has been shining but Autumn, my favourite season, is nearly here. With the crispy leaves and fresh air comes a whole host of amazing books. Honestly, I am SO excited to delve into this months new releases. If you have lost track of the fabulous releases this month then hopefully my top picks will help you!


Five Dark Fates

Title: Five Dark Fates

Author: Kendare Blake

Publisher: HarperTeen

Published: 3rd September 2019

Genre: YA Fantasy

Synopsis: Goodreads link


The final book in one of my favourite series is here! Three Dark Crowns is a fantastic fantasy series with a dark premise where three sisters must fight to the death for the crown:

“Three dark queens
Are born in a glen,
Sweet little triplets
Will never be friends

Three dark sisters
All fair to be seen,
Two to devour
And one to be Queen” 

I don’t want to say too much as I would hate to give away any plot twists from the previous books if you haven’t had chance to read them yet. My review of book one is here if you would like to know more. I would definitely recommend this series to YA fantasy fans, particularly those who like dystopia, magic, legend and character driven narratives.


Darkdawn

Title: Darkdawn

Author: Jay Kristoff

Publisher: HarperVoyager

Published: 5th September (UK)

Genre: Fantasy

Synopsis: Goodreads link


One of the most anticipated releases of the year has to be Darkdawn, the final book in the Nevernight trilogy. Nevernight has a cult following, especially within the book blogging community. Illumicrate have released a special edition box to mark the occasion! If you are interested they do still have a few boxes in stock on their website here & you can see all of their hints on their social media channels. As with the previous book, I don’t want to give anything away from earlier in the series so check out the synopsis above if you want a taste of what is to come. The series begins with Mia Corvere and how she becomes apprenticed to a deadly group of assassins. Her plans for vengeance are overshadowed when another killer is on the loose and a plot to destroy everything she loves unfolds. #stabstab


Kingdom of Souls*

Title: Kingdom of Souls

Author: Rena Barron

Publisher: HarperVoyager

Published: 3rd September 2019

Genre: YA Fantasy

Synopsis: Goodreads link


I was SO excited to read this book after reading the synopsis and was ecstatic when my wish for an ARC was granted on NetGalley. The book is described as “perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas, Tomi Adeyemi and Black Panther” and I would agree. Arrah comes from strong witch doctor lineage but. to her shame, magic still won’t answer her call. There are other ways to gain magic but, as we all know, magic comes with a price. Arrah is willing to pay for it but her borrowed power is not what she anticipated. Betrayals and danger are revealed. Can Arrah find a way to save herself and the things she holds most dear? My review for this book will be up very shortly but I will say now that I highly recommend you grab a copy.


Gideon the Ninth

Title: Gideon the Ninth

Author: Tamsyn Muir

Publisher: Tor

Published: 10th September 2019

Genre: Science Fiction – Fantasy, LGBT

Synopsis: Goodreads link


Gideon the Ninth was in my Illumicrate box this month and despite seeing it mentioned on social media I didn’t know anything about it really. The cover is not something that I would naturally gravitate towards but I definitely was intrigued by the synopsis. In fact, I immediately sent the Goodreads link to a friend of mine who I knew would be desperate to pick this one up as soon as she read “lesbian necromancers”. To be honest, so am I! The book has two LGBTQIAP+ leads and is written by an LGBTQIAP+ author.

Gideon is a reanimated corpse, who is ready to escape servitude but her childhood nemesis won’t set her free for nothing. Harrowhark needs a swordsman to compete is trials of witt and skill, so Gideon seems the natural choice. The novel promises to be full of swordplay and politics. I am looking forward to picking this one up and seeing if it is truly as flavourful as it sounds.


The Deathless Girls

Title: The Deathless Girls

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Publisher: Orion Children’s Books

Published: 19th September 2019

Genre: YA Fantasy, Retelling

Synopsis: Goodreads link


Where would I be without a retelling this month?! If Gideon didn’t sound Gothic enough for you then may I suggest that you check out the YA debut The Deathless Girls. It is a re-imagining of the brides of Dracula and ticks a lot of boxes for me from the Goodreads description “Gothic, intoxicating, feminist, darkly provoking and deeply romantic”. The cover is gorgeous and screams Gothic.

Twin sisters, Kizzy and Lil, are captured by the cruel Boyar Valcar on the eve of their diving. Forced into slavery, Lil is drawn to another enslaved girl Mira. She learns about the terrifying legend of the Dragon, who takes girls as gifts. Even without their divining day, the girls may yet discover their fates…


Honorable mentions


*If you found my September 2019 Book Releases post helpful and are considering purchasing any of the books mentioned, I would be very grateful if you would consider using my Book Depository affiliate link here. It costs you nothing extra but I earn a small commission for each purchase. Thank you ever so much for your continuing support*

*I was sent an advanced reader copy of this book for review.

Share:
Category:Beautiful Books
PREVIOUS POST
August 2019 Book Releases
NEXT POST
October 2019 Book Releases – Part 1

1 Comment

  • 21st September 2019 at 3:10 pm

    Well, these all sound amazing! The Deathless Girls is one that I really need to get around to reading, and so is Darkdawn. I did not know there was an Illumicrate box, either… my poor wallet!!! Hope you’re having a fab September and looking forward to reading your next posts <3

    REPLY

Leave a Reply